Posted by: akwak | October 14, 2008

Is God ashamed to be called our God?

There is so much to reflect on and repent over as I meditate on Hebrews 11-12:3, our saturation reflection text from this past week. One thing I tried to do was answer this question: What does this passage show me about how I approach God and also how I should approach God?

I had to repent over how I often act as though God is asleep – as though God is blind or even dumb. I excuse my sin and actions so often as if God could not see the inner recesses of my dark, shriveled heart. It says here in Hebrews 11 that Enoch was one who pleased God – that means God saw what he did – watched how he treated others, how he spent his resources. God even saw the content of his thoughts and the quality of his heart. God can be pleased or displeased by what he sees and God rewards those who seek Him in earnest, who respond to His words in holy fear, who live as strangers and aliens on earth, who refuse to be afraid of the edicts of this world and who refuse to be known as just a student, just a teen, just a housewife or just a faithful church attendee. God is pleased when I identify myself with the people of God, when I place everything in one basket and say “whatever the cost, I will obey. I want to honor those who, for your sake, were stoned, sawed in two, put to death by the sword, destitute, persecuted, and mistreated.”


Hebrews 12:1-3 should be the heart’s cry of every person who calls herself a Christian. It’s the ONLY proper response to have after having read Hebrews 11. But what is our usual response? It’s this – Hebrews 12:1-3 revised by the modern-day “Christian”:

“Therefore, there are many lifestyles that I can get away with. This great cloud of witnesses were incredible – they sure did give it their all. But as for me, it’s too uncomfortable to throw off even my down comforter in the morning to do DT, or even stop to consider what sin I might be entangled by. All those “gung-ho” types can run the race, but we’ll see how long they can persevere. As for me, I think I can only manage to fix my eyes on myself. When I consider Jesus who endured the cross in joy for me, who scorned it’s shame and endured such opposition from sinful man, I’m grateful, I really am. It’s just that, well, what does that really have to do with me. I don’t feel weary and I feel no opposition.”

Let’s not shame our God by responding in this way. Rather, as Pastor Ed suggested to us yesterday at service, let’s claim people for Christ, examine our use of time, develop skills so we can effectively serve others, and pray for the people around us. Let’s run the race together.

Please also take a look at Kelly Kang’s devotionals and check out her reflection on “Costly Faith.”


Leave a comment

Categories