Posted by: joesong23 | August 12, 2008

Blessing in the Midst of Cancer

Jenny Ho and Annie Song met and became friends at Gracepoint Fellowship Church 11 years ago

Jenny Ho and Annie Song met and became friends at Gracepoint Fellowship Church 11 years ago

As Annie just finished her first week of chemotherapy last Friday, I had a chance to see how her battle with cancer, while frightening, has also resulted in an unexpected blessing of allowing us to experience God’s love through the encouragement and support of many people at our church. All last week while Annie was going to the hospital for her chemotherapy shots, there was someone who drove her there and waited with her there as she received her shots. Throughout the week, we received numerous visitors, bringing bright words of cheer and encouragement, bouquets of flowers, and dinners so that she didn’t have to cook. Additionally, we received dozens of emails (including from people at Gracepoint Austin and Gracepoint Hsinchu) and phone calls of encouragement. Here is a basic summary of the people who visited our apartment on Thursday night:

  • Kevan and Jenny Ho (with baby Abigail in tow) (from Homegroup 1) came over with Caroline Ogasawara (just back from Taiwan missions). Jenny and Caroline started cutting up fruit for so that Annie could eat it later.
  • Suzanne Suh, busy Koinonia director, was in the kitchen putting away dishes in an organized fashion.
  • Ben and (a very pregnant) Helen Park (from Homegroup 3) brought dinner from Seoul Gomtang and washed dishes afterwards.
  • Carol Kim brought over her small group girls Sophia, Difan, Grace, and Sally
  • Jiseon Choi brought over little Sophie.
  • Daemin and Ahmi JDSN, our old leaders from our Gracepoint San Francisco campus, brought beautiful flowers and prayed for Annie and me.
  • Yumi Kim and Joanna Kang (leaders of Homegroup 8 and Homegroup 6, respectively) brought over their group: Azusa, Kathy, Vivian, Jing, Victoria, Robin, and Tina. They brought over a big box of Specialties cookies (the best cookies in the world).

This is just a snapshot of ONE night last week. (In fact, I think there were more people who came over while I stepped out for a bit!) It’s such a vivid picture of the loving community and church we are part of. Although cancer is not a situation that we want to be in, I am grateful for the opportunity we have had to experience so much love and support through it. Through this, I’ve been able to appreciate God’s rich blessings in my life more. This is truly the church. This is how we are supposed to live life. I can’t imagine how someone would be able to go through a trial like this on his own. Through our connection together in this body of Christ, knowing that others are praying for us and providing for our needs — and seeing that God, ultimately, is behind it all and loving us through them — we have been able to face even a trial like cancer with good cheer and great hope.


Responses

  1. […] all of us especially as she is young and healthy.  Here is an excerpt from Joe’s post called Blessing in the Midst of Cancer from the Koinoina HG2 blog […]

  2. Dear Joe & Annie, you know you are very dear to us and this hits close to our heart. We’re praying for you and we love you!

  3. Hey Joe and Annie, we’re praying for you and standing together with you guys during this time.

  4. […] 29 and battling with cancer, to her appointment to receive her chemo shot .  She and her husband Joe, are home group leads in our Koinonia Berkeley college group.  Needless to say, although Annie and […]

  5. I fully agree with all Joe said. Thank you for all your prayers and your support and concrete love. The visits have brought a lot of laughter into my day and I am so appreciative of all you.

  6. Annie and Joe! I learned in my SK1 preview that when one member hurts, the whole body hurts and that as one body, we share our lives with each other. We’re all with you guys and I’m willing to take the 51 anytime to your place to cut fruit or organize papers! I’m praying that God constantly replenishes your strength so that you never grow weary.

  7. ANNIEEEEEEE. I miss you and I sent many hugs to you vicariously through people. I was really glad to see Jane and Esther in Taiwan so that I could send my greetings to you through them… I hope you are doing well. I am praying for you and please please please rest and you HAVE to beat this cancer. Just tell me if I can do anything for extra cheer and encouragement, i’ll do anything for you, maybe even play basketball. [and that’s a once in a life time kind of promise…]

  8. Oh kam! thanks so much. I received your little gift and the card the sisters from Gracepoint Hsinchu sent me. It was so sweet… Actually, it WOULD bring extra cheer to me if you played basketball and had it videotaped too 🙂 haha!
    Thank you so much for your prayers!!


Leave a comment

Categories